List of Participants

BALKAN FORUM

Rethinking the Balkans Incongruities of State and Nation Building, Regional Stabilisation and European Integration

Berlin, June 17-18, 2004

Conference Venue: Auswärtiges Amt, Unterwasserstrasse Phone: +49-(0)1888-17-2461, Mobile: +49-(0173)-5106021 Conference Language: English

copy deadline: June 16, 2004; 10:00 am

Franz-Lothar Altmann Head, Balkans Affairs, German Institute for International and

Security Affairs, Berlin

Florian Bieber Senior Non-Resident Research Associate, European Centre

for Minority Issues, Belgrade

Marie-Janine Calic Senior Researcher, German Institute for International and

Security Affairs, Berlin

Lieselore Cyrus Ambassador, Special Envoy for Southeast Europe,

Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Srdjan Darmanovic Director, Centre for Democracy and Human Rights,

Podgorica

Georg Dick Head, Policy Planning Staff, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Gernot Erler *Member of the Deutscher Bundestag; Deputy Head,*

Parliamentarian Group of the SPD, Berlin

(June 17, evening)

Adelheid Feilcke-Tiemann Head, Albanian Service, Deutsche Welle, Bonn

Michael Fluegger Deputy Head, Division Western Balkans, Federal Foreign

Office, Berlin

Hannes Grandits Researcher, Department for Southeast European History,

University Graz; Managing Director, Center for the Study of

Balkan Societies and Culture, Graz

Regine Grienberger Department Foreign Relations of the EU, Federal Foreign

Office, Berlin

Karl-Theodor Freiherr zu

Guttenberg

Member of the Deutscher Bundestag, Berlin

Johannes Haindl Head, Division Western Balkans, Federal Foreign Office,

Berlin

Ardo H. Hansson Lead Economist, The World Bank, New York

Michael Harms Regional Director, Working Group Southeast Europe,

Committee on Eastern European Economic Relations, Berlin

Frank Herterich Policy Planning Staff, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Skender Hyseni Principal Political Advisor to the President of Kosovo,

Office of the President of Kosovo, Pristina

Sladjan Ilic Mayor, Municipal Assembly, Strpce

Mladen Ivanic Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Bosnia and

Herzegovina, Sarajevo (June 17, afternoon)

Oliver Ivanovic Member, Kosovo Assembly, Mitrovica

Dusan Janjic Coordinator, Forum for Ethnic Relations, Belgrade

Josef Janning *Member of the Management Committee, Bertelsmann*

Foundation, Guetersloh; Director, Bertelsmann Group for Policy Research, Centre for Applied Policy Research, Munich

Zarko Korac Professor; Member of the Serbian Parliament, Democratic

Party; former Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of

Serbia, Belgrade

Ranko Krivokapic President, Parliament of the Republic of Montenegro,

Podgorica

Albin Kurti *Member, Advisory Board, Kosovo Action Network , Pristina*

Zlatko Lagumdzija President, Social Democratic Party of the Republic of Bosnia

and Herzegovina, Sarajevo

Nikolaus Graf Lambsdorff Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General,

UNMIK, Pristina

Branko Lukovac Ambassador; Embassy of Serbia and Montenegro, Rome

Michael Martens Correspondent, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurt

Wim van Meurs Senior Research Fellow, Bertelsmann Group for Policy

Research, Center for Applied Policy Research, Munich

Jelica Minic Senior Advisor, European Movement in Serbia, Belgrade

Alina Mungiu-Pippidi Director, Romanian Academic Society, Bucharest

Milan Pajevic Ambassador at Large; Foreign Policy Advisor to Deputy

Prime Minister, Republic of Serbia, Belgrade

Bojan Pajtic *Vice President, Democratic Party, Belgrade*

Lulzim Peci Executive Director, Kosovo Institute for Policy Research and

Development, Pristina

Alojz Peterle Member of the European Parliament, Brussels (June 18)

Francois-Claude Plaisant Member, Strategic Policy Team, Directorate for Strategy and

Innovation, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, London

Visnja Samardzija Assistant Minister, Ministry of European Integration;

Associate, Institute for International Relations, Zagreb

Joscha Schmierer Policy Planning Staff, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Bruno Schoch Senior Research Fellow, Peace Research Institute, Frankfurt

Michel Soula Head, Crisis Management Policy Section, Operating

Division, NATO Headquarters, Brussels

Rita Suessmuth Professor; Member of the Board of Trustees, Bertelsmann

Foundation, Guetersloh; former President of the Deutscher

Bundestag, Berlin (June 17)

Rainer Stinner *Member of the Deutscher Bundestag, Berlin*

Dobrinka Taskovska Professor; Head, Journalism Department, Faculty of Law,

Skopje

Jovan Teokarevic Professor; Faculty of Political Sciences, Belgrade

Hashim Thaci President, Democratic Party of Kosovo (PDK), Pristina

Ivan Vejvoda Executive Director, Balkan Trust for Democracy / German

Marshall Fund, Belgrade

Vladimir Veres Ambassador; Director of the Division Planning and Analysis,

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Serbia and Montenegro,

Belgrade

Stefani Weiss Project Manager, Bertelsmann Foundation, Guetersloh

Arben Xhaferi Chairman, Democratic Party of Albanians (PDSH), Tetovo

Organization Team

Hans-Peter Lampen Bertelsmann Foundation, Guetersloh

Claudia Miller Intern, Policy Planning Staff, Federal Foreign Office,

Berlin

Andrea Muckhoff Bertelsmann Foundation, Guetersloh

Norbert Osterwinter Bertelsmann Foundation, Guetersloh