## "The New Transatlantic Strategic Framework"

February 14 – 16, 2003

## **List of Participants**

## Bertelsmann Foundation Center for Applied Policy Research

**ACCOMMODATION and CONFERENCE VENUE:** 

The Biltmore Hotel 1200 Anastasia Avenue Coral Gables, Florida 33134

Phone: 001(305) 445-1926 Fax: 001(305) 913-3159

Conference Language: English

1. Martti Ahtisaari	Former President of the Republic of Finland; Chairman, International Crisis Group, Brussels
2. Lionel Barber	US Managing Editor, Financial Times, London
3. C. Fred Bergsten	US Chairman for Economics, Finance and Trade; Director, Institute for International Economics, Washington, DC
4. Jean Betermier	Former Admiral, Advisor to the CEOs, European Aeronautic Defense and Space Company, Paris
5. Dr. Dieter Dettke	Director, Friedrich Ebert Foundation, Washington, DC
6. Mario Draghi	Former Italian Treasury Director, Rome; Vice Chairman, Goldman Sachs International, London
7. Fritz Egner	Journalist, TCB of America LC, Munich
8. Troy Eid	Chief Counsel, Office of Govenor Bill Owens, Denver
9. Steven Erlanger	Culture Editor, The New York Times, New York
10. Klaus Dieter Frankenberger	Foreign Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurt/Main
11. Prof. Dr. Curt Gasteyger	Director, Association for the Promotion and Study of International Security (APESI), Geneva
12. Charles Grant	Director, Center for European Reform, London
13. Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz	Vice President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, London
14. Dr. Thomas Gutschker	Editor, Rheinischer Merkur, Bonn
15. Dr. John Hamre	US Chairman for Security, Transatlantic Strategy Group; President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), Washington, DC
16. Marc Hujer	Editor, Sueddeutsche Zeitung, Washington, DC

17. Andrej N. Illarionov	Adviser to the President of the Russian Federation, Moscow
18. Wolfgang Ischinger	Ambassador, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany, Washington, DC
19. Josef Janning	Member of the Management Committee, Bertelsmann Foundation, Guetersloh; Director, Bertelsmann Group for Policy Research, Center for Applied Policy Research, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich
20. Dr. Dieter Kastrup	Former Foreign and Security Adviser to the Chancellor; Former State Secretary, Foreign Office; Former Ambassador to the United Nations, Bonn
21. Craig Kennedy	President, German Marshall Fund of the United States, Washington, DC
22. Hans-Ulrich Klose	Member of the German Bundestag, Berlin
23. Caio K. Koch-Weser	European Chairman for Economics, Finance and Trade, Transatlantic Strategy Group; State Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Berlin
24. John J. LaFalce	Former Congressman, Congress of the United States, Washington, DC
25. Prof. Catherine McArdle Kelleher	Professor, Naval War College, Newport, Rhode Island
26. Prof. Dr. Steven E. Miller	Director, International Security Program, Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University, Cambridge
27. Wolfgang Münchau	Editor-in-chief, Financial Times Deutschland, Hamburg
28. Dr. Andrei Piontkovsky	Director, Center for Strategic Studies, Moscow
29. Robert C. Pozen	John Olin Visiting Professor, Harvard Law School, Cambridge
30. Nicole Renvert	Project Manager, International Relations Program, Bertelsmann Foundation, Guetersloh

Under Secretary of State, Ministry of Foreign 31. Prof. Dr. Adam Daniel Rotfeld Affairs, Warsaw 32. Matthias Rüb Washington Bureau Chief and Foreign Correspondent, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Washington, D.C. Senior Research Fellow, Bertelsmann Group for 33. Nicole Schley Policy Research, Center for Applied Policy Research, Munich Foreign Correspondent, Die Welt, Washington, 34. Uwe Schmitt DC35. Dr. Wilhelm Schönfelder Ambassador, Permanent Representation of the Federal Republic of Germany to the European Union, Brussels Vice President and Director Foreign Policy 36. Jim Steinberg Studies, The Brookings Institution, Washington, DC37. Dr. Walther Stützle European Chairman for Security, Transatlantic Strategy Group; Former Deputy Minister of Defense, Berlin Head of the Parliamentary Committee on 38. Borys Tarasyuk European Integration, Former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Ukraine, Kiev 39. Dr. Dmitri Trenin Deputy Director, Carnegie Center, Moscow 40. Prof. Laura d'Andrea Tyson Dean, London Business School, London 41. Prof. Dr. Werner Weidenfeld Member of the Executive Board, Bertelsmann

Foundation, Guetersloh; Director, Center for Applied Policy Research, Ludwig Maximilians

University, Munich